The highest standards of Australian medicine are reflected in the Medical Journal of Australia. Guarding the reputation of Australian medicine in this domain over the last 4 years has been Professor Nicholas Talley, an internationally recognised educator, university leader and researcher in the field of gastroenterology and epidemiology. Nicholas Talley graduated with an Honours Degree in Medicine from the University of NSW, before completing a PhD at the University of Sydney, an MD from the University of NSW and a Master of Medical Science from the University of Newcastle. He trained in Gastroenterology at Royal North Shore Hospital and the Mayo Clinic.

His career highlights include being Professor of Medicine at the University of Sydney, and Professor of Medicine and Professor of Epidemiology at the Mayo. He is currently Laureate Professor and Pro-Vice Chancellor at the University of Newcastle.

Professor Talley is considered an international authority in gastroenterology. He has published extensively in this field and in 2017 was named ‘Australia’s Most Cited Academic’ by Google Scholar. There are many other achievements, both national and international, in Professor Talley’s distinguished medical career, including serving as President of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians from 2014-16.By pursuing excellence in every area of his professional career, Professor Talley has ensured that Australian medicine is recognised internationally for the quality of its education and research. His textbooks are well-known (and hopefully read!) by all medical students in Australia.

Professor Nick Talley took a strong stand in defending the profession’s independence when as Chair of the Council of Presidents of Medical Colleges (CPMC) he led opposition to a proposal that would have seen a government agency overseeing the accreditation of the Australian medical profession. His actions helped maintain the independent accreditation role of the Australian Medical Council (AMC).
Today we recognise Professor Nicholas Talley’s achievements with the presentation of the Bruce Shepherd Medal for his outstanding service to independent medicine.