The Australian Doctors’ Federation (ADF) has awarded 17 Australians the Bruce Shepherd Medal for services to independent medicine.  The awards add to the previous 23 recipients.  Not all awardees are medical practitioners.

The awards were presented by the Chairman of the ADF, Dr Aniello Iannuzzi, at a special event with guest speaker The Hon John Anderson AO at Aria in Sydney on 03/11/2019.

The late Dr Bruce Shepherd AM instigated these awards in 2008 to honour those who had made an outstanding contribution to independent medicine.  He presented awards personally with a brief citation and challenged the ADF to continue to recognise contributions to independent medicine at all levels.

The citations for the current and previous awardees can be found on the ADF website.

The 2019 Awardees are:
Mr Paul Boyatzis
Dr John Buntine
Dr Rosanna Capolingua
Dr Bill Coote
Dr Merv Cross OAM
Dr John Dixon Hughes OAM
Dr John Dowden
Dr Mukesh Haikerwal AC
Prof John Murtagh AM
Dr Charles New OAM
Dr Jim O’Brien
Prof Julie Quinlivan
Dr Shaun Rudd
Dr Adrian Sheen
Dr Gary Speck AM
Dr Michael Steiner
Prof Nicholas Talley AC